List of All The One Term Presidents in US, That Have Lost a Second Term


After Democratic candidate Joe Biden was elected the 46th president of the United States, Donald Trump declined to secure a second term.

The US president’s office was established in 1789, and of all the men in office, only ten struggled to seek re-election for a second term as they sought to do so.

U.S. Presidents are only permitted to sit for a period of two or four years, but although either gender may hold the position, so far, every president has been a male.John F Kennedy, the U.S. president, was killed before he could run for re-election.

It was between 1932 and 1976 that the US endured the longest duration without a president managing to serve two terms.

George H W Bush, who lost to Bill Clinton in 1992, was the last president who struggled to win re-election.Twenty-eight years have elapsed without a president failing to secure a second term, but on Saturday, Joe Biden defeated President Donald Trump.Find out below about the presidents who have struggled to secure re-election.

John Adams

John Adams

John Adams, who also served as the country’s first vice president, was the first US president who declined to secure re-election for a second term.George Washington was the first to have the honour since the position was established in 1789, and Mr Adams served under him.

Mr Adams ran for the seat for the Federalist Party after Mr Washington ended his two terms and took his place as president.

READ  Google and YouTube launches new resource page that helps students study from home

Mr Adams participated in a quasi-war with France during his time as president after they intercepted a merchant vessel in the harbour of New York City.

In the next race, he finished seventh, behind the Republican party’s two candidates, with Thomas Jefferson finally becoming the new US president.

John Quincy Adams

John Quincy Adams

John Quincy Adams, another of the Adams generation, was unable to secure reelection as US president for a second time.

Mr. Adams was the eldest son of the second president of the United States, and was the sixth man to hold the office.

There were big rifts in his party, the Democratic-Republican Party, during his time as president, and this prevented him from making much progress.

After Mr Adams failed to win re-election, the party split, with the Democratic party and the Whig party becoming the two sides.

Mr. Adams became the second US president to fail to win a second term, meaning that the only president to have failed to win re-election at the time were the two Adams ‘.

Grover Cleveland and Benjamin Harrison

Grover Cleveland and Benjamin Harrison

The next president to fail to win re-election in 1840 was Martin Van Buren, but Grover Cleveland proved that a lost election doesn’t stop you from getting a second term.

After winning both the 1884 and 1892 elections, Mr Cleveland, a Democrat, was the 22nd and 24th President of the United States.

In 1888, he won the popular vote, but lost the election to Benjamin Harrison, a Republican, who served for the next four years.

The election of 1888 was tight and Mr. Cleveland defeated Mr. Harrison in 1892, in order to win the presidency back and cause Mr. Harrison to become the fifth president to fail to win re-election.

READ  Facebook Update 2020: You Can Now Activate The New Facebook Interface With Dark Mode

William Howard Taft

William Howard Taft

Twenty years later, in 1912, William Howard Taft was the next US President to fail to win re-election.

Mr. Taft, a Republican, is the only person who has held both the position of president and chief justice of the United States in the history of the United States.Bush warned the US back in 2005 to prepare for a pandemic.

Mr. Taft, as President, said he would not appoint African Americans to federal employment and removed most of the South’s Black office holders.

He is regarded as an average president by most historians, as his four years in charge were unremarkable.

From 1909 to 1913, he served as president and Woodrow Wilson lost the 1912 presidential election.

Herbert Hoover

Herbert Hoover

In 1928, Herbert Hoover was elected as US president, and after the stock market crash of 1929, he was faced with helping the country rebuild.

As president, despite pushing to ensure that alcohol remained illegal in the US, Mr Hoover oversaw Congress’ vote to repeal the prohibition.

The economic crash in 1929 overshadowed his presidency, and he spent most of his term trying to improve the economy of the country.

By the time of the 1932 election, the US had not recovered and he lost to Franklin D Roosevelt.

Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter

Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter

Not only did Gerald Ford not win re-election as President of the United States, but he also never won a presidential election.

READ  Download Dream League Soccer 2021 v8.05 MOD APK (Stupid Bot)

After the resignation of Richard Nixon, following the Watergate scandal, Mr Ford, a Republican, became president.

He served from 1974 to 1977, when, in the 1976 election, Jimmy Carter defeated him.

Mr Carter, a Democrat, served as President of the United States from 1977 to 1981, but lost to Ronald Reagan in the 1980 election.

Despite the fact that Gerald Ford never won a presidential election, the loss of Mr. Carter meant that two successive U.S. presidents failed to win re-election for the first time.

George H W Bush

George H W Bush

The last president to fail to win re-election was George H W Bush, when he was beaten by Democrat Bill Clinton in the 1992 election.

Mr. Bush was the 41st president of the United States and, from 1976 to 1980, was the head of the CIA.From 1981 until 1989, when he was chosen to assume his seat, he served as Mr Reagan’s vice president.

Mr Bush, as president, fought in the Gulf War and signed into law the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act.

His son, George W Bush, was elected President in 2000 and served two full terms before Barack Obama assumed office as President of the United States.

Ayeni Sylvester
the authorAyeni Sylvester

Leave a Reply